Outlook - Disable copying to the Sent folder
These settings are necessary, if your mailbox has been configured (on the server) to automatically save copies of sent messages to the Sent folder on the server.
Do not use the settings below, if the above setting is not configured, as sent messages will not be saved.
If you're unsure whether your mailbox is configured for automatically copying to your Sent folder, please either ask the help desk to clarify, or configure the below and send a test. If the test shows up in your Sent folder, then its enabled on the server. If not, it isn't and you should reverse the settings, until we've configured it for you on the server.
- On the File menu, click Account Settings > Account Settings.
- Select the IMAP, and then click Change.
- Click More Settings.
- In the Internet Email Settings dialog box, click the Advanced tab, and then select the Do not save copies of sent items check box.
- Click the File > Options.
- In the Outlook Options dialog box, please click the Mail in the left bar.
- Go to the Save Messages section, and uncheck the option of Save copies of messages in the Sent Items folder.
- Click the OK button to exit this dialog box.
- Click the Tools > Options.
- In the Options dialog box, click the E-mail Options button on the Preferences tab.
- Click the both OK buttons in two dialog boxes.